Ham Salad Spread – Mom’s Style

Summer in the South – like living in the mouth of a hot dog (not hotdog). Sanctuary!  Pool side, lounging at a local winery, hanging in the hammock – you gotta have a cool snack. Mom’s Ham Salad Spread is great on crackers or on bread with a homegrown tomato.

  • 1 lb Ground ham (I use turkey ham – I’m from California)
  • 4 or 5 Tbs of chow chow (Mom used Sweet Hots – that spicy veggie combo in a jar. She would add sugar to the jar for sweet)
  • 5 or 6 dashes Worcestershire
  • 4 or5 dashes of mace
  • 3 or 4 Tbs Hot catsup
  • BIG scoop of Mayo (I use the low cholesterol stuff)

Grind and mix all up. Add whatever you like to taste. I added pepper and a homemade peppery spice mixture. Top container with sliced green olives with pimentos (if you like them. I do.)

Now doesn’t that sound nice?  CalGal

Post a Comment

